Word Press – The last Utopia on the Internet?

Pandoras box

 

 

I had a chat with someone not 10 minutes ago and I said this, and now I will blog it; I have a strange way of blogging, just say “Yes Shaun” and go with the flow…………

The title is what it says, with Twitter and Face book and all these other Social Media sites and all these groups on Yahoo and other places, I have been on them all and have always came across nasty people and strange behaviour

I have had this account 6/7 months now, and only really started blogging hard when I left my last blogging interest, sport in January 2013

I came here, and from day 1 people were nice, and to this day I can honestly say I have not came across one nasty, horrible, evil, angry person. All these emotions I have read about, but never seen thrown at other people. As the internet grows and we are so easily connected in an instant from where I am in Edinburgh, Scotland to London, Paris, Australia, South American, The States, India, the Middle East, Africa, South Africa and Europe to Russia and all in-between, I truly believe this is one of the last places where love flows, caring really happens, people understand and people take a second to be nice or say a nice word

I came here at first to talk about my Disability, Chronic Pain Syndrome, Chronic Pain. I am in agony all day every day, but the help and advice I get here has helped me in ways I can’t say, it is just filled with Love and compassion, people willing to just leave a small reply to say “I care” or “I am thinking about you”

I have never been judged to my face, although I am not foolish enough to think it may not have happened between the odd person somewhere, I am honest, I am me, you are you, so if people are nasty, they keep it to themselves, I don’t see gossips or hear them, I have 70+ people from here on Skype a few on Face Book I hardly use and many I email with, it is a fantastic place

I have been online since the world came online in 1994, I came online the day the world came online with the first version of Windows Operating System and I truly can say in the almost 20 years online, and TRUST ME I have been to many places online and this is the only one I can really say I feel we all share one common goal, and that is to care. I blog also for “Bloggers for peace” So there is another goal I have in common with many here

Is this the last Utopia we have online? The last true caring place? The final freedom on-line where we can care and help? I am just asking, I feel so…

Debate away

Shaun x

0 responses to “Word Press – The last Utopia on the Internet?

  1. Hmmm! Utopia? Not sure on that one. I don’t believe there is a true Utopia out there. I just think we bring like minded people together in cyberspace. Like tiny magnet our words reach out and pull on like minded people who want to share, care, give a little and take a little. More of a cyber bubble with its own boundaries.

    Sent from Patrick’s iPhone patrick_fisher@icloud.com

    • How you doing bud. Been having TERRIBLE Email issues, so I am not ignoring anyone, 🙂

      And yeah, kinda the same as you say.
      I can’t think of many places online that are like this.
      You know? You do get my point. Perhaps Utopia is too strong a word, but you get the meaning…

      I think if there were an On-line Utopia, this place would be close…

      Hope you are keeping well buddy.
      Shaun

    • Yeah the best way.
      I have my meeting tonight, I am taking over an Under 13’s side, a few coaches already in place as well as my 2 coaches and helpers..
      BRILLIANT CLUB AND TEAM…
      I am meeting the kids and parents tonight.
      Can’t wait..
      Keep me busy! 🙂

      Cheers
      Shaun

    • Yeah people are just pleasant here…
      I used the word utopia, but I think people get the drift 🙂

      Cheers.
      Shaun

      • Yeah that is what I was getting at, compared to other “Sharing outlets” And I have tried them all, and do many, this place comes into it’s own.
        And you hit the nail on the head, “Support” its BRILLIANT.

        I just wish I could sort the email issue, I am still getting 1,000 emails a day, and can’t change it, so I miss a lot of blogs.
        I have to bookmark people I like to read.

        Thanks
        Shaun

      • 1,000 e-mails a day is a lot to sort through, I know. I read people’s blogs via WP Reader and whatever I get via e-mail, otherwise I do have to go back and see if I’ve missed something. I can’t read everything every single day.

      • Its soo hard to keep up, think I sorted it last night. So I read other blogs….cheers xx

  2. I was fortunate to find this place for my first real interest into presenting myself online, and I have no regrets. I followed the fads for a time and tried Facebook, but it never did anything for me. It didn’t seem that anyone put anything really meaningful on there.

    • Yeah!!
      Facebook is “Game Requests” 🙂
      Twitter has this annoying 140 character thing, stops GOOD Debate, and is full of kids and some of it is vile.

      Here, people have something so share, and a way to offer help, on all matters..
      No judging either, people blog all sorts, like Sex, if people don’t like they don’t read, nobody gives anyone a hard time.

      And Fortunate, yeah, I will join this club 🙂

      Shaun x

  3. I think it’s simple, in here it’s all about reciprocity, you get what you give.
    I’ve been really lucky to “meet” really nice people, I’ve become really close to a few, we chat and talk about our private lives in private.
    Respect it’s the key I guess.

    • Yeah well said.
      Some are very open, I think I am as open as I could be without giving my Blood Type here.. 🙂

      And yeah, I treat people how I like to be treated, and I can see here many are the same.
      A very unique place to say the least…
      And I have made some BRILLIANT friends on here, some just on here, many on Skype (Audio only 🙂 ) As well as E-mail etc..

      Respect is rife here, yeah, well put

      Shaun

  4. Interesting. I think the structure of WordPress makes it a different animal than the other social media mediums. There is a more personal quality to the posts on here and you’re able to write more. Twitter is only 140 characters and Facebook is terrible for long-winded speeches. So, misunderstandings happen there because a person can’t take the time and space to get their full point across. Also, those other sites are littered with meme’s and focus more on daily status updates. Making a one line ‘I ate this for breakfast’ post on WordPress comes off as a little silly while on the others it seems to fit the environment. Seriously, why do people keep tweeting and FB-posting pictures of their meals?

    • haha @ Pictures of meals, I seen many,I don’t know.. lol
      When I was on Twitter I once seen someone moan that people text type, like “brb, lol,tmi, ryt, and other short phrases.
      I thought “You have to” lol

      And yeah, structure allows for full whack here, the whole story,some of the debate is brilliant and also great fun.
      People do judge and disagree, but it totally nice way.

      Thanks for the comment.
      Shaun

      ps:
      I bet I get abuse for this blog 🙂

    • Do I know this friend you talk about 😉 x

      Yeah, I can only repeat what you say, unconditional friendship and caring and support. And this isn’t just to me, I see it given to many people. This place is a 3rd home to me (I live here http://www.abovetopsecret.com ) But Word Press is always open on my browser for when I get a message. I am actually hard on here, it is just always open, but I can only echo 100% what you say and more. I can do 1 blog a day or 5 and nobody judges, choice is a great comfort allowed here..

      It is a spectacular place with amazing people who NEVER JUDGE YOU OR ME OR ANYONE..They just “Give a shit” And that is something we can’t say much in a world we see in the news, if you follow.

      And mind tell me who this person is with the lovely accent..I won’t sleep tonight 🙂

      Luv Ya xx
      Shaun

  5. After disaster, despair, destruction, deception, disorder, disbelief from this high heap of crumbled stones and sheets, climbed out “Hope” it had a smile and a wink in eyes, and had a white flag, calling to peace and trust.

  6. I doubt that blogging is the last Utopia. There are any number of very nasty people on here, believe me.
    They have just not found you yet since the blogging world is so gigantic.
    But you are right in that 90% of the people on here share something of yours in their life. They’ve walked the distance, and share your pain be it literally or just figuratively. And most of us do try and give a strengthening word where we can…

    • Yeah I realise there may people different people here.
      I just am careful who I follow. I think I unfollowed one person, and it was because it was about Sex, and with Kids around..you know.
      I didn’t mean blogging, I think this is a lot more than blogging. Sure we come here to blog, it’s what you get our of blogging, who we meet and how we interact for me that I think its an amazing place.

      And yeah I agree with what you said at the end..

      Shaun

  7. You’ve hit the nail on the head, Big man. The most of the other social media sites, don’t have room to swing a cat, not that anyone would do that here, even if there is room. In my opinion most of them are the internet equivalent of electronic graffiti, Vambo rools/rocks/is crap ( delete where applicable) or the street corner where the gang meets and shows off to each other. I know it is a little bit more caring than that, but there is a definite mob mentality and what is considered to be witty can end up abusive. This is an ideal area for people who have more to say/discuss than chirruping like wee birdies in a cage. On Word Press it is more like adults have a quiet drink or whatever at your friendly local, rather than bellowing out your truncated thoughts in a super loud disco. The good thing about WordPress is that there is a lot less teenage type showing off. Definitely a more adult forum, more fun too if you are an old windbag like me. Also some of the wildest and thought provoking sites available. Different place entirely than the fast track stuff. Suits me down to the ground.

    • Yeah, that about sums it up for me buddy.
      Adults debating and sharing.. And people give a shit..

      Nice..
      When you going to start bloging..
      go on, go on, go on, go on, go on 🙂

  8. It might be a karmic thing. What you put out you get back? It’s been a saviour for me. And way cheaper than therapy. All the same, I don’t think I’d fit in Utopia. I’d get thrown out for breaking the rules or saying the wrong thing. The latter is far more likely.

    • ha ha ha …Well sometimes naming a blog is hard..
      And yeah I learnt a LOT about my disability here, more than than I ever did from my Dr or the Chronic Pain people..

      And yeah, I may be the same 🙂 lol

Leave a comment