A video that “Tries” to explain Chronic Pain – Please Watch and give me your views

What level are you today?

What level are you today?

I went through two attempts with the Chronic Pain team in my home city of Edinburgh. Waste of time. They told me at the start “This may not work for you” it did not. they said “If you feel it is not working, you can leave the team and the pain they cause you” I left. I still help them, I give them my thoughts and feelings , but in reality, they don’t know. They told me and many others “It may be in your head” and informed us Australia was the worlds worst sufferer of Chronic Pain. This surprised me, as I associated cold weather with pain.

This is the video the “Experts” with a book show us, people never in pain, just out of college or Uni, tell me, its in my mind, I can’t accept this, I am strong willed

I ask anyone who suffers Chronic Pain to  watch this 5 minute video and give me feedback. I can’t in my mind say “Yeah it may me in my mind” Maybe the odd time when I am down perhaps, but 24/7 I can’t and wont accept this, sadly the reality is, they have no idea, so this video, from Australia, they give to people in the UK is the best they have at present.

I would like to hear your thoughts. I blogged this video before, but I have 300 extra/new friends and followers since I posted it, so I would like to ask again

Shaun

0 responses to “A video that “Tries” to explain Chronic Pain – Please Watch and give me your views

  1. Great video and they have valid points there. I’ve struggled with Fibromyalgia all my life and doctors were of no help. I also went “natural” as the meds the doctors gave me messed up my stomach lining so I can not drink any pain meds at all. I’ve made peace with the pain I had to put up with and was diagnosed with chronic fatigue immune deficiency syndrome as well. Because of the chronic mucle pains I learned to do things differently and also to look after myself better. I do Yoga exercises and when I have lots of pain I go for walks. Just to show the pain I won’t let it beat me. I can be very hard-headed. LOL! Because of my positive attitude I don’t struggle as much as I used to, so yes, a better attitude, exercise that you can handle and better eating plans and looking after your body sure helps a lot. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I like the video a lot, it really helps me understand CFS pain and CRPS pain. I’ve been told I have fibromyalgia which leads to constant pain, but I’ve also got HMS on top, so I have persistent and frequent injuries. Drawing a line between “proper injury” pain and “pain that’s always there” pain is hard. Doctors often get a bit sceptical about it with me.
    I was wondering – do you struggle to know when you’ve injured yourself if you’re always in pain?

    • Yeah..
      New pain?
      Old pain?
      Sometimes I don’t know If I have hurt myself in a new area, or the pain is an old injury. I snapped my left Hamstring on my left knee, almost detached from the knee. Some days I think I have done it again, but it is just old pain.
      I hurt my foot a while back, It took me a week to go to the Hospital and they said it was fractured, I was not sure if it was an old injury, pain from CPS or new pain.

      So yeah, always a battle to find out what type of pain it is. I learnt, if in doubt, go to the Hospital.

      Hope that helps..

      Cheers

  3. Yeah….well, I would love it if my pain was only in my mind, but I can’t believe that either. Tell myself about a hundred times a day that I have to stop whining and just do the things I have to do, despite the pain. And I do them. All of them. But not without the pain, though. I am really stubborn, so I like to believe that when I could tell myself I am not in pain it would actually stop. I tried that. Next thing I knew I was on my knees on the floor and coulnd’t get back up. So, no, I am not buying this video. Like it, though. They did a great job putting this together! 🙂

  4. Yes! That makes perfect sense! I didn’t like myself for one bit for a long time, I had to learn how to love myself all over again when I got my conditions! Now, I finally do. But it took me a lot of time to accept myself fot who I am now. And I agree, stress is a huge pain factor! Thank you for sharing this, Shaun. Hugz!

    • This is why we blog and read and care..
      To help. As I have said I have had more help and suggestions on here than I have from my Dr..
      And re-inventing yourself is hard, family think you have gone crazy, friends think you are on non-prescribed drugs.
      Acceptance that “This is me for ever” in my early 30’s was sooo hard, and only the last few years in my late 30’s have I started to accept.
      This came to me aged 24, it wasn’t fair, not on me or my Partner or my kids or my family and friends.
      It turns our (People like us) World upside down. It is an invisible disability and it is so hard..

      But thanks to people like you, you make it easier and you bring meaning where there is none and light when it is dark.

      Shaun x

    • Nobody can no. But I guess others live with things, other issues. One of my best friends partner is Blind. They are VERY HAPPY, But we can’t imagine how hard it is to live with no sight…
      But you are correct, constant pain is just horrific. it drags you down and beats you up. I feel like a boxer in the 12th round on the floor unable to get up, bit knowing I have to every day.. lol

      I hope you are feeling ok Sheri..x
      Hugs.
      Shaun

Leave a comment